For The Days I Do Not Participate in Conversation

For The Days I Do Not Participate in Conversation by Margarita Cavazos

These conversations I hear around me…

Are mostly unfulfilling.

Not  even bread crumbs for my mind.

 

And when I sighed and asked for silence in my head,

It was given, if only for a moment.

 

They talk of people around them.

They talk of places around them.

 

I hear no ideas.

No incited expression of thought fulfillment.

 

Mental orgasms not possible.

Simple data…

I judge too soon.

 

But when I hear a voice that knows its words…

When the voice is urgent or confident…my ear is lent.

If I hear the falsehoods I try not to shake my head,

But nod and smile because I know some of the truths.

 

Leave a Reply

